Informed

As part of becoming a more responsible global citizen I need to be informed about what’s happening in the world.

How do I get my news?

Currently my primary sources of information are the radio, twitter, the internet, television, and newspapers (in that order).

Radio

I work full-time, I have a long commute, and I travel around as part of my job, so I spend a lot of time in the car. Throughout the day I enjoy listening to the CBC (www.cbc.ca/radio/).

The CBC provides me with regular news updates; but more than that, the shows take me behind the headlines. Guests with different positions; and listeners with different perspectives have the opportunity to share information, and weigh in on different subjects.

The result? I’m inspired to think about daily life in different ways.

Twitter

I recently signed up for Twitter , and it’s taken over as my secondary source for news. I follow news media, and social activists. I find myself checking Twitter, on my smart-phone, for news updates throughout the day, and clicking on tweets to read additional information.

Follow the story

I then use the internet to conduct further research and follow stories.

Not enough time…

I find I don’t have time to watch television, or read papers for the news.

How can I be better informed?

I started writing this blog because I’ve realized the power and efficiency of social media for gathering and transmitting information, and building communities.

I’d like to hear from you, and learn how you get your news, and how you stay informed?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

